Vivarium (update #1.5)

I intended to have done another full update of my vivarium, but I couldn’t get a large enough range of decent pictures. I will do this hopefully sometime soon, but for now, here’s a photo showing the explosive root growth of Bulbophyllum saurocephalum. This offset is almost a fully grown plantlet, not bad considering it was a tiny bud 2 months ago.

Bulbophyllum saurocephalum root

I’ve also been busy fussing over the aquatic portion of the vivarium. At first I filled it with Anubias and other plants, doing my best to hide the piece of cork bark, which in turn, conceals the filter pumps. I hated it; I reworked about 6 different aquascapes (and almost came close to ripping the cork out) before I settled on this one. The bottom of the tank is now minimally planted, but heavy on wood. Floating plants (Salvinia natans and Limnobium laevigatum) block out some of the light to discourage algae and filter unwanted nitrates via their nice long roots.

Blackwater

(Edit: 15 minutes after posting this I repositioned the branch pictured to the right; what’s wrong with me?)

~ by Adam Bone on December 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
